Skip to main content

[Network] Block user response parameters values are switched

When interacting with the Block functionality, in the response the API returns there are 2 parameters that indicate whether we have blocked the user or they have blocked us.

In the case of the block being initiated by us, the "isBlockedByCurrent" user returns true indicating that we are blocked by the user rather than the other way around.

It's likely the values defined in the back end have their names switched.

Note: I don't believe it's appropriate to return this information and show who is blocked and who is blocking us as this can be sensitive topic and can lead to potential harassment between users.

https://gyazo.com/81d2ab4d96d7618f449b3935db6a71b7

P.S. Apologies for using you for testing purposes and causing potential notification spam 😅

Status: Closed4 comments

Log in to comment and vote

Comments4

  • Luke Rowley changed status to Closed
    Team•

    Jul 9, 2024

  • Aiyumei Resident

    •

    Jul 9, 2024

    Yes that's true but if I'm blocking the user, which in the case I am, shouldn't isBlockingCurrentUser be true instead? As I'm the one who initiated the block action.

    I have the feeling the names of the parameters are simply switched.

    • Luke Rowley

      Team•

      Jul 9, 2024

      Aiyumei Resident: Based on the screen you've sent, no. CurrentUser is your current account you are logged with, so isLukeRowleyBlockedByAiyumei, yes.

  • Luke Rowley changed status to Under Review
    Team•

    Jul 9, 2024

    Hi! I'm not sure to understand the issue here? If you are blocked by the user, you need to know it, since you won't be able to see any of their content