Skip to main content

Make Social Media Profiles Visible for Viewers WITHOUT Logins

This is the a big hurdle for bloggers and influencers sharing their content. I'd love to be able to share pictures and videos to any viewer without them having to be logged in.

This is an example of what I mean - Here is Instagram. I'm 'looking at the Feorie Frimon' profile without being logged in.

Status: Completed15 comments

Log in to comment and vote

Comments15

  • Sandie Cheeks

    •

    Jun 28, 2024

    Can we opt out to this? This is a sure fire way for those that have been blocked to still stalk people. As someone who has been suffering from stalking and harassment for over a year now I am VERY much against this. That was how I was stalked and harassed on various other social platforms. If this is something you plan to implement we need to have an option to opt out and REQUIRE that residents be logged in to see our content.

  • Celeste Nightingale

    •

    Jul 1, 2024

    I believe that implementing such a thing would be harmful to the safety and security of those of us on PF. The block feature was very much desired and has helped cut down on the ease of those wishing to do hurtful behavior towards others. If people are allowed to view content on PF without being logged in, then it creates a way for them to bypass the block feature. Considering one needs to have a secondlife account to create a PF account, it seems reasonable that you should be logged in to see such content related to SL for the safety of the community as a whole. If you truly do wish to implement such a change, I'd implore you to have the default settings leaving profiles and content viewable only to members logged in, and making it something people would have to OPT IN to to implement. This way, if someone has been a victim of hurtful behavior and happens to be asleep or away from their computer when such a change is implemented, they are still kept safe as a hurtful person will not be able to see their content unless we, the user, decide to OPT IN to such a feature.

  • Xandre Dallas

    •

    Jun 29, 2024

    I feel this is an easy way around someone being blocked…. plain and simple. Privacy is important, and the service should be secured. If this is being implemented… limit what can be seen. If you want to enjoy SL content, be logged in. Primfeed has SL account linking options already, so there is no reason to publicly make available someone's feed.

  • Myka Winchester

    •

    Jul 1, 2024

    Please make this an option in feature. Much like how we can mark our Twitter and Instagram as private. This would make the block function essentially useless because then it can be bypassed by simply logging out.

    I understand having this feature for store and event pages would be useful because much like Flickr, we'd be able to link our advertisements to people not on Primfeed. But making it an option in for personal pages is definitely necessary so we can protect ourselves from people we've blocked for a reason.

    • Feorie Frimon

      •

      Jul 1, 2024

      Myka Winchester I love making it an option!!! Great idea!

    • Myka Winchester

      •

      Jul 2, 2024

      Upon re-reading my comment it seems like I support this idea 100%. To be clear, I don't. My suggestion to make it an 'opt in' feature is because it says it's a planned feature down the road. I have people that I have blocked for a reason. i don't want them to log out and then be able to look at the content of my page and I know I am not the only one, as evidenced by the others commenting here saying the same thing.

      Personal pages should have to specifically opt-in to have their content viewable by anyone regardless of if someone is logged in, it should not be the default.

      Stores & Events are public and so probably don't need the option to turn this off.

  • Aimee Aurora

    •

    Jun 26, 2024

    I think it would be nice if this is optional per user. People suing primfeed who don't blog might wanna have the option (like instagram) to have a more private profile.

  • Devyn Corvinus

    •

    Jun 29, 2024

    It would be nice if this could be implemented, but in a different sort of way. Don't enable it for user pages, but do enable it for store pages. Maybe also allow a "social venues", "live music venues", and "art venues" type of pages, and it could be enabled on them as well. That way users can still be protected, but places that wish to be found and shared easily outside of SL can still do so. I've seen so many posts I'd love to share to my discord server, but I can't because most of the people don't have a primfeed account yet.

  • callijynx Resident

    •

    Jul 7, 2024

    Not sure why some people are commenting against this feature. The current behaviour stops us from being able to easily share our primfeed content with friends on Discord the way we can share flickr posts there, with a link which shows the image in the discord post. It is a barrier to fully replacing flickr for people who like doing that, and also a very basic feature that is lacking at the moment.

    Blocking someone on primfeed isn't a security feature to prevent stalkers from ever seeing your content. It's to prevent contact between you on your main accounts. It keeps you from having to see their content, and prevents them from commenting on your stuff on their main account. It's dirt easy for them to make an alt in SL just for silently viewing your content if they still want to see your primfeed stuff after being blocked.

    You can't stop people from seeing your online content if they really want to see it. And this is too valuable of a feature to not implement just for the sake of trying to keep certain people from seeing what you post. It's still a public forum you're posting to, they're still going to (easily) be able to find ways to see it. Block them to cut off direct contact or if you don't like seeing their posts. Not under the illusion that they'll never be able to see your posts again if they want to.

  • Luke Rowley changed status to Planned
    Team•

    Jun 26, 2024

    Hey! This is planned for this year, but I have no ETA about this.

  • Teal Aurelia changed status to Complete
    •

    Jan 25, 2025

  • PatrickR Bleac

    •

    Sep 12, 2024

    Good idea, but it should be opt-in rather then opt-out or mandatory. Privacy by default. It will be little effort for the smaller group of blogger and business owners to open up their profile while at the same time keeper the larger group's privacy more protected.